Thursday 03 Sep 2015Ibane U14H 'P2' - Final


Ibane Gaels won the u14 West Cork A hurling final in tremendous style against a strong Sam Maguires side on Thursday evening in Clonakilty.
Ibane dominated the opening half throughout the field with 5 of the 6 forwards scoring from play.There were some great points from Ryan O Donovan, Con Dineen, Darragh Holland, Lorcan O'Leary and Adam McSweeney.  The goal coming from full forward David Walsh following some good work by John Allyn Byrnes. The scoreline at half time was 1-08 to 3 points.
In the 2nd half the Ibane defenders had to be at there best to keep out a much improved Sam Maguires side. Corner back Shay Powell and Wing back Matthew O Donovan were the pick of the lot. They both had superb performances. Other backs Arun Ducat, Jack Lawton and James Moloney kept the shackles on some dangerous Sam Maguires forwards while also showing some great hurling skill. Full back and captain Cathal Sheehy had a great game catching some great ball while also protecting his keeper behind him, Florence Wycherley who was unlucky not to stop the Sam Maguires goal which came from a penalty.
Our midfield pairing of John Sheehy and Con Dineen worked their socks off against a bigger and stronger opposition and came out on top due to their high work rate and skill level. The Walsh twins, Sean and Fergal came on in the 2nd half and ran at the Sam Maguires defence at every chance winning some valuable frees.
The un-used subs on the night, but who have played very well in many other games, were Michael Wycherley, Christoper Walton, Sean Henchion, Conor O Flynn Andrew Guinivan and Killian Sheehy
Overall it was a super team performance and winning the west cork was just reward for a squad who have trained hard all year. Their skill level and especially their catching ability was very high on the night.
They now are through to the county semi final which will be on in the next few weeks.
Thanks also to the large number of supporters who turned out to support the lads. Hopefully there will be an even bigger crowd at the semi final.
Final score Ibane Gaels 1-14 Sam Maguires 1-07
Adam McSweeney (0-6, 0-5 frees), David Walsh (1-1) , Ryan O Donovan (0-3), Con Dineen (0-2) Darragh Holland (0-1) Lorcan O'Leary(0-1)
Florence  Wycherley, James  Moloney, Cathal  Sheehy, Shay Powell, Matthew  O Donovan, Arun Ducat, Jack  Lawton, John Sheehy, Con Dineen, Adam  McSweeney, Darragh Holland, John Allyn Byrnes, David Walsh, Lorcan O’Leary, Michael Wycherley, Fergal Walsh, Christopher Walton, Killian Sheehy, Sean Henchion, Sean Walsh, Conor  O Flynn,  Andrew Guinivan.

B. C.

Some match pictures from Clara and twitter.

Winning squad.

Presentation to skipper Cathal.

Happy Campers.

Some more Pics from Clara Maloney.

Cup on high.

All smiles.

Job done.


Web Design by Granite Digital