Home »

County title for U14s

05 July, 2021

Barryroe 5-06 St.Fanhans (Mitchelstown) 3-03

Barryroe Camogie girls emerged victorious from a highly competitive U14B Cup final against St Fanahans in the camogie grounds in Mahon Cork on Sunday 4th of July.  Due to covid restrictions, this final was held over from 2020 with both teams anxious to complete the fixture. Before a crowd of almost 200 and on a humid day, St Fanahan’s won the toss and elected to play with the wind in the 1st half.  St Fanahans had the better start and lead by 2 points at the 1st water break but goals from Emma Collins and Lucy Kirby gave Barryroe a 3 point lead at half time. While Barryroe had more possession in the half, the St Fanahan’s goalie pulled off a number of excellent saves.

In a roller coaster game, St Fanahan’s started the 2nd half in determined fashion with a key moment being a goal line block from Denise Fleming from a 20m free. Barryroe’s lead was reduced to 1 point by the 2nd water break. The mentors urged the girls to put in one major effort for the last quarter and the girls responded with an unanswered 2-2 in the last quarter helped Barryroe to a 5-06 to 3-03 victory. Ciardha McCarthy and Sarah Harte excelled at midfield while Ellen O’Donovan, Maeve O’Sullivan and Mia O’Driscoll kept the speedy St Fanahans forwards at bay and were ably supported by Jill McCarthy and Caoimhne Ni Bhuachalla. In the forwards Emma Collins scored 3 goals, Lucy Kirby came on as a substitute and scored 1-01 while Aimy Marot, Riona Collins, Olive O’Flynn and Aoibhinn McKeogh fought for every ball. 

The presentation was made to the captain Mia O’Driscoll by the Juvenile Board Chairwoman. On return to Barryroe there was a parade of cars through the parish covering Butlerstown, Lislee, Lislevane, Grange and Courtmacsherry where the locals came out in force to congratulate the girls.  This was followed by food at the GAA grounds and presentation of medals to the players.

Barryroe squad: Saoirse Whelton, Denise Fleming, Ellen O’Donovan, Jill McCarthy, Meabh O’Sullivan (0-02), Caoimhne Ni Bhuachalla, Mia O’Driscoll (Capt), Sarah Harte (1-00), Ciardha McCarthy (0-03), Aoibhinn McKeogh, Emma Collins (3-00), Olive O’Flynn, Aimy Marot, Riona Collins, Loren Hitz, Alannah Sexton, Lucy Kirby (1-01), Rachel Flynn, Lola O’Donnell, Orla Ryan and Ella McSweeney. 

Web Design by Granite Digital