Friday 12 Sep 2014Ibane Minor Hurling - Championship

Clonakilty ( West Region Minor A Hurling Championship Final), 18:30PM

Ibane Gaels 4-10 Sam Maguires 1-10

Ibane won the Rebel Og  West Minor A Hurling  Championship with a good win over Sam Maguires in the final played in Clonakilty. Ibane were well up for this game and after early points were exchanged Sean Holland was on hand to finish with a goal to give Ibane a 1-01 to 0-01 lead .Sam Maguires got a point back but were hit by another goal when Mark Crowley receiving a pass from Jack Cahalane slotted home . Sam Maguires were more than holding their own and had reduced the gap to 3 points 2-02 to 0-05 and it took a great save from Conor Madden from a semi-penalty to keep the lead intact . Goals win games however and in a carbon copy of the 2nd goal Mark was at the end of a pass from Jack to score goal no.3 , Ibane finished the half with another Steve Madden pointed special and a free from Ted Kearney to lead at half time 3-04 to 0-06 .

In the other championship matches up to this Ibane have been poor in the 2nd half this was not the case here and both teams traded points before the killer blow came when this time the provider became the finisher as Jack got his name on the score sheet with a well worked goal. This was the game clincher and Ibane proceeded to fire over some lovely points the highlight being Darragh O Donovans from the sideline , Sam Maguires did get a goal but it was too little too late and the final score was Ibane Gaels 4-10 Sam Maguires 1-10.This was a good all round team performance  who under Danny Murphy's coaching have improved big time as the year has progressed. Next up Ibane play the winners of Eire Og or Inniscarra in the county semi-final where we will go in as big underdogs but that is for another day , tonight was Ibanes night and it was nice to have a good news story after a bad few weeks in the area.

Team Conor Madden Conor O Regan Daniel Hurley Niall Dullea Steven Madden 0-01 David Kiely Gerry Crowley Cathal  O Donovan Eoin Lawton Killian McSweeney Jack Cahalane 1-01 Ted Kearney 0-03 Killian Lawton Mark Crowley 2-03 Sean Holland 1-00 subs Darragh O Donovan 0-02 Eoin Holland Christopher Crowley Ciaran O Sullivan.


Sean Holland about to score the first goal.

You can just see Conor's gloved hand make a timely interception.

Mark Crowley bags one,

and two, as Sean does a jig of delight.

Conor blocks a penalty.

No holding back.

No way past.

Niall receives the trophy.

The winning squad.



Web Design by Granite Digital