Home »

West Cork Final 2019

08 September, 2019

At half time in today's junior A hurling final, the hurlers of Barryroe who won the South West title in 1994 were honoured. 1994 was an historic year for hurling in West Cork as the Carbery divisional team won the county senior hurling title for the only time. Being the champion team in the division that year was a special achievement and that honour fell to the hurlers of Barryroe.

The reigning champions were Argideen Rangers, who had won the title for the very first time in 1993. Barryroe hadn't won the title in seven years and the teams met in the final in Bandon. Barryroe had beaten Bandon and Ballinascarthy on the way to the final, while Argideen had accounted for Gabriel Rangers and Clonakilty.

Unfortunately, conditions were miserable for the game, which prevented it from being a classic and it was Argideen who dominated the first half. Even though Padraig Collins kicked a goal for Barryroe in the third minute, two early goals for the Timoleague men would have been more but for the excellent goalkeeping of Michael White. At the break it was Argideen in front by 2-03 to 1-04.

A number of switches by the Barryroe mentors worked the oracle in the second half, the move of Arthur Tobin and Padraig Collins to midfield, and Adrian White to defence, giving them control. Class hurler Pat Tobin had a fine game at corner back, while full back Raymond Collins dominated the square. Centre back and captain, Sean O'Regan, impressed all through and Kevin McCarthy much happier in attack in the second half. Damien Fleming was the top scorer up front with six points to his credit.

Within ten minutes of the restart, Barryroe had jumped into a lead of four points, courtesy of a goal from sub, John Michael O'Sullivan, 2-07 to 2-03. During the closing twenty minutes, in deteriorating conditions, each side managed only a further point and on a score of 2-08 to 2-04, Barryroe captured the "Flyer Nyhan" Cup for the fifth time.

The following weekend the team beat Fermoy in the county semi-final by 3-10 to 5-03 in Pairc Ui Rinn but later lost the county final to Carrigtwohill by two points, 0-12 to 1-07 in Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

The full Barryroe panel for the final was: Michael White, TJ O'Donovan, Raymond Collins, Pat Tobin, Arthur Tobin, Sean O'Regan (capt.), John Holland, Kevin McCarthy, Adrian White, Liam Murphy, Damien Fleming, Charlie McCarthy, Eoin McCarthy, Batt Whelton, Padraig Collins, Johnny O'Regan, Dermot Walsh, Paul O'Regan, Timmy Walsh, John Michael O'Sullivan, Teddy O'Sullivan, Michael Coleman, Norman Fleming, Dan O'Donovan, Derry Madden, Geoff Wycherley, William Sheehy, Padraig Whelton.
Mentors: John O'Brien, Fr. Richard Hurley, Liam Cahill, Sean De Barra, Barry O'Flynn. Trainer: John O'Leary.

Extract from today's match programme. Thanks to Martin Walsh for today's picture.

Web Design by Granite Digital