Monday 24 Sep 2018U12 Hurling - Final

Newcestown, 18:00PM

Barryroe 3-02 St.Colums 4-05

On a sunny autumn evening in Newcestown, St. Colums emerged deserving winners of this U12 Hurling Cup final against a gallant Barryroe team who kept fighting to the very end. Barryroe started brightly but St.Colums gradually came into the game and led at half-time 3-02 to 3-00. The second half was an even affair but St.Colums found it just that little bit easier to take their scores whilst proving very difficult to break down at the other end of the field. In what was an excellent game of hurling befitting the occasion, the ground striking, free-taking, sideline cuts and wholehearted tackling of both sides was of the highest standard and great credit must go to both teams for giving us an exciting and entertaining hour’s hurling. From a Barryroe perspective, there has been a marked and steady improvement in the hurling of everyone on the panel since their first game in Timoleague last April and though it would have been great to bring the cup back to Barryroe, the boys can be satisfied that they gave it their all on the night.

Congratulations to St. Colums and a word of thanks to referee Michael O’Leary for officiating and especially to the Newcestown club for hosting the game and for having the pitch in splendid order.

Team (13 a-side): Aaron Fleming, Brian Sheehy, Donnacha Coakley, Colm Kirby, Daniel Moloney, Zac Farrell, Luke Murphy (0-02, 0-01 frees), Killian Kirby (capt.), Ted O’Sullivan, Dermot Dineen, Sean Flynn (1-00), Alphie Walsh, Michael O’Donovan (2-00). Subs: George Russell, Dylan Kelly, Se Gannon, Ben O’Dwyer, Adam Sexton, Kelan Casey, Mike Collins, Cillian Coakley, Conrad Murphy.

Web Design by Granite Digital