Sunday 03 Oct 2021Junior A Football - Championship

Ardfield, 15:00PM

Barryroe 1-15 Castlehaven 1-13 (AET)

When Castlehaven scored their tenth point in the forty-first minute to extend their lead to 1-10 to 0-05, few in the sizeable attendance at a well-manicured but blustery Ardfield gave Barryroe a chance of rescuing something from this game. A Mark Crowley point which was shortly followed by a Ryan O'Donovan free had reduced the gap just before the second waterbreak. Poor shooting by the Haven along with some stout defending by Sean O'Riordan, Conn Dineen and David O'Sullivan was the foundation for Barryroe thundering into the game in the final quarter. With Ryan O'Donovan now a growing influence up front with points in the 51st and 55th minute, excitement was building ahead of a grandstand finish which was teed up by great score by sub Jack Cahalane in the 56th minute. After a few spurned opportunities it was Robbie Kiely who billowed the Haven net deep into injury time to send the game to extra time. 

Two points from Ryan in the first period of extra time left both teams retiring at half time of extra time tied 1-12 apiece. Barryroe took the lead for the first time in the 72nd minute following another well struck Ryan O'Donovan free. Castlehaven were quick to respond but Barryroe regained the lead following a Ryan free after Sean Holland was hauled down inside the 20. The Barryroe bench was proving the difference in the closing stages and fittingly it was one of the Barryroe subs Sean Holland who brought the curtain down on proceeding with a fisted point in the 80th minute of a good sporting contest. Barryroe running out narrow but deserved winners 1-15 to 1-13. Barryroe's 2021 championship journey continues, and they now progress to a quarter final against St. Mary's.

Barryroe: Connor Madden, Sean O'Riordan, David Kiely, James Moloney, Jerome O'Brien, Conn Dineen, David O'Sullivan, Robbie Kiely 1-02, Gearoid Holland 0-01, David Murphy, Patrick Molney, Liam Colbert, Ryan O'Donovan 0-09 (45, 5f), Mark Crowley 0-01, Adam McSweeney. Subs used: Sean Holland 0-01, Brian O'Donovan, Michael Walsh, Jack Murphy, Jack Cahalane 0-01.

Web Design by Granite Digital