Páirc Uí Mhurchú

The 2018 August Bank Holiday Monday will go down as a significant day in the history of Barryroe GAA Club as the club officially renamed its grounds Páirc Uí Mhurchú after the late Paddy Murphy. Proceedings kicked off a little after 5pm in glorious sunshine as MC for the evening Vincent O’Donovan welcomed everyone who had traveled from near and far. It was a testament to Paddy’s popularity that most clubs in the Carbery division were represented on the evening, along with players and club officers who would have soldiered with Paddy during his tenure as club secretary.

Barryroe Cathaoirleach Sean de Barra was the first speaker and went through a brief history of Paddy’s remarkable service as rúnaí spanning a fifty one year period. Sean was followed by Fr. Dave O’Connell, local Parish Priest, who performed a very apt blessing for the occasion. The speakers continued with Joe Crowley of the Randal Og club and current Carbery Cathaoirleach speaking on behalf of the division. Cork GAA Rúnaí Frank Murphy had some memorable recollections of Paddy’s ability to secure any available grants and tickets for Cork matches. Richard Murphy, son of Paddy and current Barra Rua Rúnaí was the day’s final speaker. Richard thanked the club for the gesture which was very much appreciated by the Murphy family. He thanked his fellow officers and club members for the time and efforts in making this day possible and the many people who had contributed in many ways to having the grounds looking in pristine condition. MC Vincent O’Donovan wrapped up proceedings a little after 6pm and invited all present to some refreshment’s which were being served in the dressing rooms.

In conclusion a fitting honour to a remarkable man who gave so much of himself to our club and the community. A tribute to ensure his legacy lives on. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

Photos at index.cfm?page=viewNews&id=1386&cYear=2018&cMonth=8

Web Design by Granite Digital