Sunday 10 Sep 2023Junior A Football - Championship

Ballinacarriga, 14:00PM

Barryroe 0-12 St. Colums 1-08

Barryroe were pushed all the way in a tense and tight contest in their final group game of the Bandon Co-Op Junior Football Championship at a sun drenched Ballinacarriga. Barryroe trailed at the break 0-08 to 1-06 and it was the improved defensive performance in the second period which ensured Barryroe topped the group with maximum points.

The game started in a whirlwind of excitement with Ryan O'Donovan scoring a monster point in the opening minute. Colums responsed immediatlely and following a third minute penalty which was expertly dispatched they led 1-01 to 0-01. Colums added two further points before Ryan settled Barryroe with a free on '9 and a good team move with Olan on the end it on 10' left the score 0-03 to 1-03. Brian O'Donovan added a great score on 11' before Olan with argubaly the score of the day on 13' had seen the gap reduced to the bare minimum. The momentum pendulum again swung back to Colums as they responded with points on 18' and 21' before Barryroe regained the initiative with two quick fire Ryan frees and Olan's second from play on 27' left the score at the short whistle 0-08 to 1-06.

Ryan was quickly to the fore early in the second period with a free on 30' followed by a great score from play on 38'. The impressive Sean Holland pushed Barryroe into the lead on 46' which Colums responded with their final score on 47'. The score deadlocked 0-11 to 1-08 with Barryroe in control around the middle third. Barryroe squandered a host of chances in the final ten minutes before Dónal Ó Buachalla was on hand on 58' with well worked team move to again push Barryroe in front, 0-12 to 1-08. Colums kicked some wides from distance in the closing stages but Barryroe ran out deserving [just] victors. Both sides now progress to the Quarter Final stage where Barryroe are due to play Castlehaven. Date and venue and to be confirmed over the coming days.

Gearoid Holland, Michael Walsh, Sean O'Riordan, Patrick Moloney, Tomás Ó Buchalla, James Moloney, David O'Sullivan, Robbie Kiely, Jerome O'Brien, David Murphy, Seán Holland 0-01, Brian O'Donovan 0-01, Ryan O'Donovan 0-06 (4f), Adam McSweeney, Olan O'Donovan 0-03 (1f). Subs used: Conn Dineen, Mark Crowley, Dónal Ó Buachalla 0-01, Diarmuid McCarthy, Cathal Sheehy. Remaining panel: Alan Kiely, Daniel O'Driscoll, Jack Cahalane, Steven Madden, Séan Ryan, Darren McCarthy, Conor O'Regan, Ciarán O'Regan, Conor Tyndall, Geoffrey Wycherley, Gavin O'Donovan, Aidan Walsh, Killian Sheehy.

Web Design by Granite Digital