Friday 29 Dec 2023Ibane U21 Football - West Cork Final

Dunmanway, 19:00PM

Ger McCarthy of Irish Examiner 30/12/2023

Eddie Kenneally helped Newcestown gain revenge for last year’s Clóna Milk Carbery U21AFC final defeat to Ibane Gaels by overcoming the defending champions and claiming the 2023 title in Dunmanway on Friday evening. Kenneally scored 1-3 on an evening Newcestown claimed their first U21A football title in 17 years. Ibane led 0-4 to 0-3 after ten high-octane opening minutes. Richard O’Sullivan (two) and Eddie Kenneally scored for Newcestown but Ryan O’Donovan (two frees), Olan O’Donovan and Lorcan O’Leary efforts edged the Gaels ahead. Then, Newcestown grabbed control courtesy of two goals in six minutes. Dan Flanagan’s point attempt from wide on the left somehow found the net prior to Ciarán O’Donovan flicking home his team’s second goal. An Eddie Kenneally free made it 2-4 to 0-4 before Ibane roared back into contention. Lorcan O’Leary split the posts ahead of an Olan O’Donovan goal and point to reduce the deficit to the bare minimum at the interval.

The game turned in the third quarter when Ibane goalkeeper Cormac McCarthy was black carded for hauling down Ciarán O’Donovan in the Ibane square. Eddie Kenneally made no mistake from the resulting penalty and added a free to make it 3-5 to 1-6 with quarter of an hour to go. The defending champions refused to buckle with Olan O’Donovan (two) and Ryan O’Donovan finding their range. Newcestown were not to be denied however, as late Seamus O’Sullivan and Darragh McSweeney points, along with some brave defending, cemented a 3-7 to 1-9 triumph.

Scorers for Newcestown: E Kenneally 1-3 (1-0 pen, 0-2 frees), D Flanagan, Ciarán O’Donovan (1-0 each), R O’Sullivan 0-2, S O’Sullivan, D McSweeney 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ibane Gaels: O O’Donovan 1-4, R O’Donovan 0-3 (0-2 frees), L O’Leary 0-2.

NEWCESTOWN: E McSweeney; C Hurley, C O’Sullivan, R Sweeney; C Wilson, J Burrows, P Kelly; J Kenneally, R O’Sullivan; D McSweeney, E Kenneally, D Flanagan; C O’Donovan, S O’Sullivan (captain), R McSweeney.

Subs: Colm O’Donovan for C O’Sullivan (ht), N Kelly for P Kelly (48).

IBANE GAELS: C McCarthy; M Walsh, S O’Riordan, F Walsh; T Ó Buachalla, J Moloney, S Henchion; C Dineen, P Flynn; D McCarthy, S Walsh (joint-captain), A McSweeney; R O’Donovan, O O’Donovan, L O’Leary.

Subs: G Wycherley for D McCarthy (36, black card), J Lawton for D McCarthy (50, injured).

Referee: Brian Crowley (Castlehaven).

Web Design by Granite Digital